UK Legal System Civil Court System - England and Wales
Civil Court System - England and Wales

County Court

The County Court deals with all but the most complicated or high value civil proceedings. It may also deal with relatively low value cases where legal costs are not usually allowed, and when doing so is often referred to as the ‘Small Claims Court’.

High Court

The High Court deals with civil cases of a more substantial or complex nature, and is split into three Divisions:

• The Chancery Division
This deals with company law, partnership claims, conveyancing, land law, trusts, probate, and patent cases. It also hears appeals from the Tax Tribunal Upper Tier.

• The Queen’s Bench Division
This deals with contract and tort (civil wrongs), libel, and judicial reviews (when it is known as the Administrative Court)

• The Family Division
This deals with family law cases.

Court of Appeal (Civil Division)

The Civil Division of the Court of Appeal hears appeals from all Divisions of the High Court and in some instances from the County Courts and certain tribunals.


© 2008 - 2014